Board of Directors

Craig Ellison – Chair, has a long history in the seafood industry. For many years he was a director, financial and quota manager for his whānau fishing company Ōtākou Fisheries. He was involved in the introduction of the Quota Management System and from 1992 – 2004 was a Te Ohu Kai Moana (Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission) Commissioner. Previous directorships include Aotearoa Fisheries Ltd from its inception until 2007, and again from 2016 to 2018, the Sealord Group, NZ Trade and Enterprise (NZTE), chairing the NZ Seafood Standards Council and NIWA. His current board appointments include Chair of Poutama Trust, Seafood New Zealand, Wellington Zoo, and Lesvos Abalone Limited. Craig is also on the governance boards of the National Science Challenge, Science for Technological Innovation, and the Strategic Science Investment Fund Antarctic Platform.

Dr Richard Janes is an experienced company director with appointments in both the private and public sectors. His current director appointments include Gallagher Group Ltd and Deputy Chair of Centreport Ltd.
Dr Janes has an extensive background in management, especially in business development and international brand marketing. He has worked in Australia, the United States and the United Kingdom as well as New Zealand. His past directorships include Deputy Chair of Lotto NZ, Merino NZ, Landcorp Farming Ltd and Director of Kapiti Cheeses Ltd and Tennis NZ.

Maria Pera is a representative and trustee with Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and chair of the Treaty Tribes Coalition. Maria is currently the Regional Manager of Access Homehealth Ltd Southland and Otago. Maria has extensive experience in social service governance and iwi economic development as well as whānau start-up businesses.

Ben Bateman (Ngāi Tahu – Ngāti Waewae, Ngāti Mamoe) is Deputy Director of Legal Services for the New Zealand Defence Force, serving in the rank of Lieutenant Colonel. His broad legal experience includes international, operational and humanitarian law, commercial and contract law, criminal law, public and administrative law. He has represented New Zealand’s interests at various international engagement activities throughout the Asia Pacific, North America, the Middle East and Europe, providing legal advice on a range of complex international and commercial matters. Ben holds Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Science degrees from the University of Canterbury.

Jen Crawford is a professional director with an extensive background in project consenting, risk management and resource management law. Her current director appointments include Independent Chair of Ashton Wheelans Chartered Accountants, Board member of Crown-Council entity Regenerate Christchurch and member of a governance group for the Canterbury schools rebuild programme. Past governance roles include Chair of the Christchurch Arts Centre and University of Canterbury Foundation trustee. Jen has been recognised for her governance work as a finalist in the 2015 Women of Influence Awards and recipient of a Local Hero Medal in the 2017 New Zealander of the Year Awards. She is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors and a member of the Women in Infrastructure Network.